Carter appointed to Mvskoke Media Editorial Board

Carter appointed to Mvskoke Media Editorial Board
(Conner and Winters LLP website)

Mvskoke Media Editorial Board release

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation executive branch’s nominee, R. Daniel Carter, joins the independent agency’s editorial board after unanimous confirmation by National Council


OKMULGEE, Oklahoma — R. Daniel Carter has been appointed as the Mvskoke Media Editorial Board’s third member after being nominated by Muscogee (Creek) Nation Principal Chief James Floyd as the executive branch’s representative through TR 17-107.

Rep. Lucian Tiger III sponsored the tribal resolution, which was adopted by the National Council during the quarterly session July 29, 2017, with a 14-0 vote.

The board oversees editorial policy and ensures sound operational structure for Mvskoke Media as an independent agency.

Carter works as a full-time Indian law practitioner at Conner & Winters, LLP. He specializes in working with tribes to develop legal infrastructure, advance economic interests, preserve tribal culture and fight for sovereign rights in federal and tribal courts.

Prior to joining Conner & Winters, Daniel worked as counsel for the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. As counsel for the committee, Daniel briefed senators and staff on federal legislation and policies related to Indian tribes and tribal citizens.

Daniel received his legal training at UCLA School of Law, where he focused on Native American law and served as treasurer to the Native American Law Student Association. Daniel graduated summa cum laude from Oklahoma State University with a bachelor’s degree in economics and legal studies.

He grew up in Pawhuska and is a Muscogee Nation citizen. He and his wife, Haley, a Cherokee Nation citizen, reside in Tulsa.

Carter joins Travis Snell (Cherokee) and Rebecca Landsberry (Muscogee Creek) as board officers. According to NCA 15-218, the National Council must appoint positions within the Editorial Board. In the interim, Snell serves as chairman, Landsberry as vice chairwoman and Carter as secretary for 2017-2018.



Latest Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *