Del Beaver wins race for Second Chief

Del Beaver wins race for Second Chief
Del Beaver wins Second Chief race in MCN Primary Election held on Sept. 21.MM Graphic

Proctor, Hicks, and Hufft win respective districts

by Rita Courtwright, Managing Editor

OKMULGEE, Oklahoma —Official election results have been released showing Del Beaver, taking 63% of the vote, to win the seat of Second Chief in the Muscogee Creek Nation Primary Election held on Sept. 21.

“I felt that God led me and equipped me to fulfill the position of Second Chief.  I had the experience, the backgrounds and the education and I feel God puts people in certain places at certain times and it was this faith that led me to want to run for Second Chief,” said Del Beaver.

Beaver has served on the National Council as the Okmulgee District Representative (Seat A) since 2016.

“I realize that the citizens want transparency and I would like to see the office of the second chief have more of a presence on social media, as well as beginning to reinvest in ourselves.  I would also like to see the at-large representative be placed under the direction of the Second Chief so that at-large citizens can feel like they have a representative to turn to with questions,” said Beaver.

Also winning their districts are Darrel Proctor, McIntosh District (Seat A), Randall Hicks, Okfuskee District (Seat A), and Robert Hufft, Tulsa District, (Seat A).

“Two petitions concerning the Principal Chief results from the absentee ballots have been filed and the Election Board cannot certify the Principal Chief results until the recount and hearings have been conducted,” said MCN Election Board Manager Nelson Harjo.

The recount for Principal Chief with the Supreme Court Justices will take place on Oct. 2 at 8 a.m. A hearing is set for Oct. 4 at 9 a.m.

Facing off in runoffs on Nov. 2 will be:

Creek District (Seat A)

Joseph Hicks

Dean Hughes

Muskogee (Seat A)

Mary Crawford

Lora Harjo-King

Tukvpvtce (Seat A)

Anna Marshall

Rufus Scott

Okmulgee (Seat A)

William Lowe

Carmin Tecumseh-Williams

Wagoner (Seat A)

Charles McHenry

Dierdra Soap

All voter registration will reopen on Sept. 24 for the general election which will be held on Nov. 2.

For more information on registering to vote, log onto or call MCN Election Offices at 918-732-7631.

Mvskoke Media will keep you up to date on this story.


To view the official results in pdf format click here.


Latest Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *